A little more clarity

February 13, 2010

As a fledgling non-profit we’re on a steep learning curve and our mandate will constantly be progressing. We’re hoping that the folks in our community will help in defining who we are as an organization and how what we do will be anything less than valuable. I think that part of a good first few steps forward will be to give a little more clarity as to the inspiration behind Free Skates, or rather, what skating meant to us. In return and the reason for this project is that we’re hoping the kids receiving these decks benefit the same way we did and even better.

FF skateboards:

As cliche as is sounds, skateboarding saved my life. Helping shape who I am and given me so much. So I thought what better way to give back then literally give back. I’ve had this idea for some time now and started talking more and more about it with like minded people and from those talks stemmed Free Skates.

Growing up I noticed a lot or kids around me were a product of their environment. I never felt like I was, always looking for a venue to express myself. Luckily skateboarding gave that to me. So when everyone was going off to rob & steal I was able to say “I’m gonna go skate, get at me” Skating gave me an out and showed me anything is possible.

What I fell in love with about skating was that fact that I didn’t need a team to pass the ball to. It was all you! Full express of ones self with no judgement, and any old parking lot would do. I remember the first time I landed a kick flip, it was over! The feeling was indescribable. Skating breeds confidence to help you truly be and express ones self.

From this I wanted to help spread skateboarding to those who would normally not have the ability or resources to skate and perhaps help others have an out as I did.

Me:

In the 1980’s, while skyrocketing in popularity among youth culture in north America and internationally, skateboarding found itself postured with subversive and counter cultural movements like punk rock. My experience with skateboarding is how I came to identify with the punk/hardcore movements of the late 80’s and early 90’s. To me, the images/icons (Lance Mountain, Christian Hosoi, Steve Steadham, among countless others) of skateboarding were just as important as the sport itself and the misfit culture that surrounded skating fit hand in glove with music used in videos through out the years. Watching Tony Hawk skate to Youth Brigade’s “Did You Wanna Die?” (Bones Brigade “video show”) was a defining moment for me and I’m sure that I am not the first to say (I hope) that these videos changed my life. I still proudly carry that punk ideology 20 years later.

peace

Dear Scott Pommier well….  unauthorized use of photo?

In the future the plan will be to post more and keep you posted with what we’re up to. We just hope you keep checking and please if you have questions get in touch. We want to know what we’re doing wrong or right.

freeskatesorganization@gmail.com


Leave a Reply

